Hello, Dollface

18 May

As if I needed it, I’ve found another hobby that I am slightly obsessed with. A few years ago I became fascinated with Blythe dolls. This led to the discovery of Pullip and Dal, and eventually Asian BJDs or ball jointed dolls. The first BJD I came across was Super Dollfie, and I nearly fainted when I saw the price tag. These nearly 2 foot tall, resin dolls run about $600.00 +…too rich for my blood. I’ve since discovered many types of BJDs, in varying sizes and shapes, and with varying price tags.

While looking at Super Dollfies, I came across Dollfie Plus, a 27cm vinyl doll, with an anime like face. At $18.00 for a blank doll, I figured this was a great place to start. I purchased my doll and a set of purple acrylic eyes from Volks USA. After reading a lot, and watching some tutorials on Youtube, I took a stab and my first “faceup” – painting and shading the face. I used acrylic paints, soft pastels, and a good matte sealer. Not perfect, but not bad for my first attempt. Funny, I don’t spend this much time on my own makeup.

Leave a Reply

